Other brand:


McLaren – Legendary Formula 1 Success and Innovation

McLaren Racing Ltd., currently trading as Vodafone McLaren Mercedes, is a formula 1 team based on British soil, in Surrey, England. Among the active teams, it is the second oldest. Its achievements list is an impressive one: 182 race victories, 12 drivers' championship titles and 8 constructors' championships. The team was founded in 1963 by Bruce McLaren, a New Zealander and 5 years later it was already winning its first GP. Firstly, it has achieved great success on American territory.

Bruce McLaren, the Founder

The team founder originating in New Zealand, Bruce McLaren was already a Formula 1 driver working for Britain's team Cooper. He helped it achieve 3 GP victories. Later his dispute with the Cooper owner over the 1.5 litre and 2.5 litre motors led him to assemble his own team. Bruce started driving himself for it. The first car by the new constructor was the M1A. Race dominance was only a few steps away for the team and was quickly achieved, against the main opponent Porsche.

A Plethora of Illustrious Names

The McLaren team is connected to an impressive series of important names in the field of car racing: Teddy Mayer, the one who replaced Bruce McLaren after his death, Emerson Fittipaldi, Ron Dennis, Alain Prost, Niki Lauda, Ayrton Senna, Mika Häkkinen, Lewis Hamilton and Kimi Räikkönen.

Its main racing rivals have been Williams and Ferrari.

A Pioneering Team

The name McLaren is connected to the first carbon fiber monacoque. It had introduced the technology back in 1966, and now it has become commonplace. Besides this great milestone, the constructor also put significant effort in building customer cars. For this, a partnership with Trojan was established. Customers were demanding for the fastest cars on the market, and the company provided. 160 customer Can-Am cars were built, 52 for Formula 500/A and 25 for Formula 2/B. America's USAC racing also had 24 McLaren cars. On oval circuits, the average speed was of 200 mph. McLaren used turbocharged engines, while the European race cars were still committed to normally-aspirated ones.

Ron Dennis' Departure

With Ron's arrival in 1980, the team had the benefit of an important boost, as he had been involved with Cooper Cars. When team principal Ron Dennis left in 2009, McLaren welcomed Martin Whitmarsh but started to experience struggle. Its drivers lineup remained the same for the past years: Lewis Hamilton and Heikki Kovalainen.

McLaren won the constructors' title in the following years in F1: 1974, 1984, 1985, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1998. Its champions were:

  • Emerson Fittipaldi in 1974,

  • James Hunt in 1976,

  • Niki Lauda in 1984,

  • Alain Prost – 1988, '86, '89,

  • Ayrton Senna – 1988, '90, '91,

  • Mika Hakkinen in 1998, 1999,

  • Lewis Hamilton in 2008.

Latest McLaren news

McLaren – Trumpet Of The Racing World

2013-11-30 22:55:23

Going a step ahead of the advancement is not possible for all. That is why the pioneer automotive company, McLaren, stands out of crowed when it comes to list highly advanced car models of the racing world. The Vodafone McLaren Mercedes has been known for making the high performance racing vehicles. On the other hand, the McLaren Automotive is popular for its road models with advanced Formula One technology. So, what makes the company to develop such a fantastic model ever?

McLaren: The Formula One Pro

2014-01-12 07:09:22

The McLaren group was founded in 1963 by Ron Dennis. It is a group of companies, including McLaren Racing, McLaren Automotives, McLaren Applied Technologies, McLaren Electronics. The company is based in Woking, Surrey, England.

McLaren 12C - The Road Monster - Review

2014-01-29 10:27:48

McLaren Automotive, affectionately called as McLaren is a famous British automaker, which is in the design and development of high-performance vehicles. The company got established in 1989 as McLaren Cars and started making cars with Formula One technology. McLaren Racing is now one of the most proven Formula One manufacturer, which is a subsidiary of the McLaren Group. The new McLaren 12C is also a chasing design for the fans to boast of.

How did the 2012 McLaren MP2-12C Won Hearts?

2014-03-03 08:57:29

The McLaren Racing Limited, now listed as McLaren Mercedes, is a leading British Formula One team, into sports car manufacturing, which is based in Surrey, England, UK. McLaren is renowned globally as the Formula One constructor and has also won the Indianapolis 500 and Canadian-American Challenge Cup, etc. The brand is in custom making of sports car models too, which is the craze of the top racing enthusiasts across the globe. Here we will see the specs of the McLaren MP4-12C which came out in 2012.

McLaren P1 – The Hypercar

2014-03-18 13:14:39

The recently launched McLaren P1 is being defined to have taken road-legal performance at simply another level. McLaren is a package which redefines grip, performance as well as power. P1 displays agility along with drivability that one usually misses in most hypercars. McLaren P1 uses hybrid technology which has been integrated and aerodynamically styled, thereby giving a distinct character to the car. The hypercar which is a popular demand with buyers looking for speed and agility in their vehicles.

McLaren models list:

McLaren MP4-12C 2012-2013
McLaren MP4-12C Spider 2013-2013

McLaren image gallery:


McLaren engine

McLaren wheels

McLaren black

McLaren white

McLaren red

AutoBibiki mates